Back To Journal

Tissue Engineering Parts A, B, & C: Young Investigator Council


Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to announce the members of the 2016 Tissue Engineering Young Investigator Council. Selected from an impressive pool of international candidates, we warmly welcome the following global group of young investigators to our esteemed editorial team.

Our personal thanks goes out to the leadership of the Tissue Engineering and Regenerative Medicine International Society (TERMIS) and the Student and Young Investigator Section (SYIS) of the society for their involvement in selecting the final applicants of the 2016 Council.

2016 Tissue Engineering Young Investigator Council (TEN YIC):

YIC Chair

Elizabeth Loboa
Dean, College of Engineering
Professor of Bioengineering
University of Missouri

2015 YIC Council
Michael J. Mitchell
NIH NCI Ruth L. Kirschstein F32 Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Chemical Engineering, MIT
David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research

Graham Walmsley
Laboratory of Dr. Michael T. Longaker
Laboratory of Dr. Irving L. Weissman
Stanford University School of Medicine

Yu Shrike Zhang
Harvard Medical School
Harvard-MIT HST

Jiao Jiao Li
Biomaterials & Tissue Engineering Research Unit
University of Sydney
Sydney, Australia

Xujie Liu
Graduate School at Shenzhen
Tsinghua University
Shenzhen, PRC

Yinghong Zhou
Institute of Health and Biomedical Innovation & Science and Engineering Faculty
Queensland University of Technology
Queensland, Australia

Aurélie Carlier
cBITE-Laboratory for Cell Biology-inspired Tissue Engineering
Merln Institute, Maastricht University
Maastricht, The Netherlands

Roman Tsaryk
Laboratory for Cardiovascular Patterning
Max-Planck-Institute for Molecular Biomedicine
Muenster, Germany

Anthal Smits
Eindhoven University of Technology
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Eindhoven, The Netherlands

This initiative is brought forth to further the professional development of young investigators in the field of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. We are honored to have these young investigators be a part of our editorial team for a term of one year and support them in their professional growth and development in the field. New council members will be selected each year to join the TEN YIC and we encourage all qualified applicants to apply in the future.

Please join us in congratulating these young investigators on their appointments. We look forward to working with them over the course of the following year.


Co-Editors-in-Chief: Antonios G. Mikos, PhD and Peter C. Johnson, MD
Reviews Co-Editor-In-Chief (Part B): John P. Fisher, PhD
Methods Co-Editor-In-Chief (Part C): John A. Jansen, DDS, PhD