Back to Top

Editorial Board


Angela M. Leung, MD, MSc
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism
Department of Medicine
UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System
Los Angeles, CA, USA

Associate Editors

Sara Ahmadi, MD
Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism
Department of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA, USA


Takashi Akamizu, MD, PhD
Department of Internal Medicine
Center for Excellence in Thyroid Care
Kuma Hospital
Kobe, Japan

Giuseppe Barbesino, MD
Thyroid Unit
Massachusetts General Hospital–Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA, USA

Sofie Bliddal, MD, PhD
Department of Medical Endocrinology and Metabolism
Copenhagen University Hospital
Copenhagen, Denmark

Lindsay A. Bischoff, MD
Division of Endocrinology
Department of Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN, USA

Kenneth D. Burman, MD
Section of Endocrinology
Department of Medicine
Georgetown University School of Medicine
MedStar-Washington Hospital Center
Washington, DC,  USA

Ricardo Correa, MD, EdD
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Metabolism
Department of Medicine
University of Arizona College of Medicine-Phoenix
Phoenix VA Medical Center
Phoenix, AZ, USA

Trisha D. Cubb, MD
Houston Methodist Academic Medicine Associates
Houston, TX, USA

Omar M. El Kawkgi, MB, BCh
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Nutrition
Department of Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN, USA


Mayumi Endo, MD
Division of Metabolism, Endocrinology, and Nutrition
Department of Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle, WA, USA


Gary L. Francis, MD, PhD
Division of Pediatric Endocrinology
Department of Pediatrics
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
San Antonio, TX, USA


Giorgio Grani, MD, PhD
Department of Translational and Precision Medicine
Sapienza University of Rome
Rome, Italy


Joanna Klubo-Gwiezdzinska, MD, PhD, MHSc
Metabolic Diseases Branch
National Institutes of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD, USA

Lindsay E. Kuo, MD, MBA, FACS
Department of Surgery
Temple University Lewis Katz School of Medicine
Philadelphia, PA, USA

Anupam Kotwal, MBBS
Division of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism
Department of Medicine
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Omaha, NE, USA

Jie Liu, MD
Department of Head and Neck Surgical Oncology
Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences, Peking Union Medical College
Beijing, China

Elizabeth A. McAninch, MD
Division of Endocrinology, Gerontology, and Metabolism
Department of Medicine
Stanford University Medical Center
Stanford, CA, USA

Theodora Pappa, MD, PhD
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Hypertension
Department of Medicine
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, MA, USA
     Department of Medical Oncology
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA, USA


Jesse D. Pasternak, MD, MPH, FRCSC
Department of Surgery
University Health Network and University of Toronto
Toronto, Canada

Christopher Rowe, MBBS, PhD
Department of Endocrinology
John Hunter Hospital
Newcastle Australia
      School of Medicine and Public Health
University of Newcastle
Newcastle, Australia

Venessa H. Tsang, MBBS, BSc(Med), FRACP, PhD
Department of Endocrinology
Royal North Shore Hospital
Sydney Australia
      Northern Clinical School
Faculty of Medicine and Health University
Sydney, Australia


Erivelto Volpi, MD, PhD
Head and Neck Surgery
Oncology Center, Oswaldo Cruz German Hospital
CETRUS Medical School
Sao Paulo, Brazil

American Thyroid Association®

Julie Ann Sosa, MD (2022-2023)
San Francisco, CA, USA

Jacqueline Jonklaas, MD, PhD (2019-2023)

Washington, DC, USA


Christopher McCabe, PhD (2022-2023)

Birmingham, United Kingdom

Anthony Hollenberg, MD (2021-2025)
New York, NY, USA

Past President
Peter A. Kopp, MD (2021-2022)
Lausanne, Switzerland and Chicago, IL, USA

Michael McDermott, MD
Aurora, CO, USA

American Thyroid Association®

Amanda Perl
Executive Director, ATA
Alexandria, VA, USA


Sharleene Cano
Director, Publications and Membership, ATA
Alexandria, VA, USA

Headquarters’ Office
American Thyroid Association
2000 Duke Street, Suite 300
Alexandria, VA 22314 USA

Phone: 703-998-8890

Copy Editor
Debbie Stone

Karen Durland

The views, opinions, findings, conclusions and recommendations set forth in any Journal article are solely those of the authors of those articles and do not necessarily reflect the views, policy or position of the Journal, its Publisher, its editorial staff or any affiliated Societies and should not be attributed to any of them.